On September 29th, new floodplain maps from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will go into effect.  These maps replace floodplain maps that have been in existence since February 4, 1981.  FEMA and Kittson County have certain guidelines for building or moving a structure into a floodplain. Applying for a building permit is the first step to ensure compliance. 

We have added the floodplain maps to our GIS mapping tool located in the menu to the left.  Once in GIS, select "Legend" from the top menu bar and scroll down until you find "Floodplain Data".  Then select the floodplain map you wish to view. 

If you have a mortgage or secured loan from a federally regulated or insured lender and the principle structure on your parcel is within the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), then by Federal law your lender must require you to carry flood insurance. 

After September 29th, lenders will be sending letters to all property owners in the SFHA to notify them of their  obligation to purchase flood insurance.  If you have questions at all concerning the letters or the new floodplain maps, feel free to contact Lane Nordin the Zoning Office at 853-2114.

Photographs courtesy of Megan Sugden Photography and may not be copied or used without permission.