Minnesota Supplemental Assistance (MSA)


Program Description

Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA) is a state funded program that provides a monthly cash supplement to persons who are aged, blind, or 18 years of age or older and disabled who also receive federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. Some recipients receive MSA and do not receive SSI benefits because their income is too high. The MSA program is administered by county human services agencies.

Eligibility Criteria

MSA is available to Minnesota residents who:

        *  are recipients of SSI, or

        *  are eligible for SSI except for excess income and whose net income is less than the MSA standards.

To receive MSA benefits, a person must be:

         *  age 65 or older, or

          *  blind or have severely impaired vision, or

           *   disabled according to the criteria used for Retirement and Survivors Disability Insurance (RSDI) and SSI and be between the ages of 18 and 65. Disability for non-SSI recipients is determined by the State Medical Review Team.